Continuing On

28 Aug

“She was unstoppable, not because she did not have failures or doubts, but because she continued on despite them.”

I love that quote. Like REALLY love it.

We all fail; it’s inevitable. At some point in time we fail at something, big or small. 

Me? I fail on a daily basis…seriously! You probably already knew that, but bear with me, I have a point behind this! I fail daily in my walk with Christ. There are times when I’m not kind, or forgiving, or loving. When the stresses of life are on my shoulders, I tend to get wrapped up in my own self. I get selfish and only think about what I want. It’s days like that when I’m EXTRA thankful for God’s grace, ’cause guess what?!

“…for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God…” Romans 3:23

So when I know I fall short…when I know that I have sinned..I know that I can run to God with a sincere heart and He will forgive me. And so I continue on…

I often fail in my career as well. I started a new job in February working for a really awesome company. However, it was literally ALL new to me. This job was something that I had never done before; it was a learning experience in every way possible. The first few months I knew that since I was still new to the position and the company that my “failures” were just part of the learning process. But then came August…I was six months in and by this time I thought “I should really understand all of this!” Well guess what….I didn’t! Yes I understood so much more than I did previously…but there were things that just weren’t “clicking” with me. I was discouraged, disappointed in myself, and felt like a failure. I questioned my intelligence, my purpose, and more.

You’ve probably heard it said, “you are your own worst critic.” That is SO true. I was down and out. However, it was then that I realized how big of a support system I have. My family and boss encouraged me. And finally, after a few weeks of being encouraged, I started to believe it. And guess what! I began understanding more at work; I was feeling more confident and I knew that I was there for a reason. I felt almost “unstoppable!” Not in a literal sense of course…but unstoppable because even though I had doubts, even though I had failed, I continued on.

Truthfully, giving up is easy. Like really easy. And sometimes it may seem like you should just give up…but don’t! Keep pushing forward…work hard…learn as much as you can…be kind…and be confident.

You are where you are for a reason. The Bible says, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

Don’t give up; you’ll thank yourself later.

Blessings and love,

Hannah D. 🙂

“Just think, you’re here not by chance, but by God’s choosing. His hand formed you and made you into the person you are. He compares you to no one else–you are one of a kind. You lack nothing that His grace can’t give you. He has allowed you to be here at this time in history to fulfill His special purpose for this generation.”

 

Leave a Reply

