Seasons Change

14 Nov

I love fall. I love watching the leaves change from green to orange to red to yellow. I love the smell of crisp cool air and bonfires on a chilly Saturday night. And most of all, I love the memories this season brings. Seasons are so much more than changes in the weather though. There are sad seasons, happy ones, and difficult ones…life is full of them.

Fall in Arkansas :)

Fall in Arkansas ๐Ÿ™‚

Fall is one of my favorite seasons; it brings back wonderful memories and hope of joys to come. Sometimes it’s hard to not think of past memories or events. Sometimes it is so hard to live and be fully present in the here and now. Every year I think of where I was three years ago during this season and each time brings back painful memories. Memories I cannot erase, nightmares I cannot wake up from. You see, it was this time three years ago that my dad was in the hospital. His 50 day journey began on October 24, 2011 and our lives were shattered when it ended on December 12, 2011. The pain doesn’t go away, the hurt is always there, and the realization that one of the people who helped make you who you are is no longer with you. When my daddy died a part of us died too. And though he is in Heaven and no longer suffering, my heart hurts around this time every year.

I will always remember my Daddy and I will always miss him so much. But this year will be different.

It is so easy to live in the past and to hold on to things that have already happened, but that is not truly living. This year I want it to be different. I want to be fully present in the present.

This is my first Thanksgiving and Christmas as a wife! I have spent the last three Thanksgivings and Christmases with Houston (my now husband), but this year will be different! I am so beyond excited about spending these special days with him. This year we both started new jobs that will allow us both to have 2 weeks off for Christmas! I am so blessed and thankful that we will get to spend time together enjoying this beautiful season.

Not only do I love fall, I love the season of life that I am in now. Life I said earlier, life is full of different seasons. While life will always have problems, choosing to enjoy each day is so important. This season of life has brought many new and exciting things. Houston and I got married five months ago on June 7th. Life changed in a lot of ways that day. I would be moving out of my mom’s house, moving to a different town (only 20 minutes away, thankfully!), starting a new life with bills and adjustments. Things were changing and it was scary at first and a little overwhelming too! I had no idea on that June day how beautiful and happy the upcoming season was going to be. While there have been many adjustments, this has been such a wonderful time in my life.

Houston and I have always had such a great relationship. We dated for four years before getting married and during that time we were able to go through the ups and downs of life together. He has been there through so many seasons. I never imagined that the season would be so incredible. I am blessed to be married to a wonderful, godly, handsome man. My best friend and the one special person God made just for me. As we continue on in life I look forward to spending every single season with him by my side.

Christmas 2013; our last Christmas before getting married! Can't wait until our first "married" Christmas! :)

Christmas 2013; our last Christmas before getting married! Can’t wait until our first “married” Christmas! ๐Ÿ™‚

So whatever season of life you’re in right now, whether it be good or bad, happy or sad; find the good in the midst of your greatest pain and heartache, there is good to be found somewhere. And have faith in knowing that God is with you each step of the way. I hope this post encourages someone in some way. Enjoy each moment of life that you’re given, because it is too short and goes by too fast not to.

Season’s Greetings! ๐Ÿ™‚

images

-Mrs. Hannah D.

One Response to “Seasons Change”

  1. Ginger Bailey November 14, 2014 at 6:16 pm #

    Love this.

Leave a Reply

