Plans Change

12 Dec

It has been a few weeks since my last post. My apologies to any faithful readers…I promise to do better! 🙂

I’ve been thinking about plans a lot lately. You see, I’m a planner in pretty much every aspect of the word.  I enjoy making plans ahead of time and making sure I’m prepared for anything. I’m a planner in my career as well. However, sometimes plans fall through. It is that aspect of planning that I don’t deal with very well.

As I get older, I learn more and more that plans change. This happens whether we want it to or not. It is when things don’t go the way you want or expect them to that you have to make a choice as to how you react. Reacting to change is a big part of your character. This is something I’m still learning.

Today is one of the best examples of dealing with “plan changes.” It was four years ago on this day that my Daddy went to Heaven to be with Jesus. Losing a loved one, especially a parent, is not something you can ever plan or prepare for. That was the worst day of my life. My daddy had been sick for a long time. When we got to the hospital to visit him that day we learned that he might not make it much longer. He had been very touch and go for a while, but there was something different about this day. We spent the entire day by his side; telling him often that it was “okay to let go” and that we would be okay. And in that moment you don’t really realize what you’re saying. We knew that he was going to Heaven, that we were completely sure of. But we had no idea how hard it would be when he was gone. And we certainly weren’t emotionally prepared.

Our family...May 2011. <3

Our family…May 2011.

So let’s fast forward to today. Four years has passed and by God’s wonderful grace, we are doing much better. When you lose a loved one, you never ever get over it and you never move on completely. It is something that you adjust to, something that you just learn to live with each day. Just recently, this week as a matter of fact, I discovered something though. When we go through trials it is important that we use what we went through to help others. We must use our pain and grief to bring encouragement to someone else. If we don’t do this, we become emotionally stagnant.

I know that each person and circumstance is different. I’m not sure what you’re going through or what you have gone through in the past, but please let me encourage you. If you have lost someone you love, whether it was one year or 10 years ago; you can get through it. No you will never get over that loss and you will never forget your loved one, but it is so important that you strive to keep moving forward. Surround yourself with the ones you love. Hold on to each memory you have with the loved one that passed and cherish each new memory made with those still here. Don’t be afraid of making new memories either and don’t give up on something that you’ve been working towards. When my Daddy passed I had just finished my first semester of my junior year of college and the last thing I wanted to do was go back to school. But I knew that he would never want me to quit college. He would want me to keep going. And because I did, I know that he is looking down from Heaven smiling because I didn’t give up.

So when you feel like giving up, take heart knowing that God will never leave you. By His grace, He will carry you through each trial in life. Trust in Him. Keep moving forward.

You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, smarter than you think and loved more than you know.

May God bless you and keep you, always.

Blessings,

Mrs. Hannah D.

 

Leave a Reply

