You’re a Good, Good Father

17 Jun

Father’s Day is this Sunday. Can I be real with you? I hate this day. I know that is isn’t necessarily fair of me to hate  Father’s Day, but I do. 

This holiday always brings a shot of pain to my heart as I’m flooded with memories of my Daddy. I’ve talked about him before, so many of you know that he passed away 4 1/2 years ago (almost to the day in fact). 

Experts (whoever they may be) say it takes two years after losing a loved one to get somewhat back to normal. Well the truth is the death of a loved one, especially a parent, is something you never, ever get over. You adjust, you pick up the pieces, you let God start healing your broken heart, but you never get over it. 

So here we are; four years later and I still hate Father’s Day as much as I did four years ago. I don’t always feel sad when I think about my Daddy, but then there are times that it feels like I lost him just yesterday. He’s in Heaven now. He is completely healed and no longer in pain. The fact that he is now with Jesus gives me such comfort. 

He was (is) the best Daddy anyone could have. Of course, I’m slightly biased, but it is what it is. He was a mess in so many ways! He could always make you laugh and smile…he could even drive you crazy! Ha! Those are a few of the things I think of when I think of him. He had the best heart. He had a heart of gold and would help you out without thinking twice. He loved his family more than life itself. I never once questioned how much he loved us. He was the hardest worker I’ve ever known. Never once did he let his health problems keep him from working, if it was up to him of course. He was human though, which means he wasn’t perfect (none of us are). But when I think of him, I don’t remember the imperfections. He was a good, good father. 

I was blessed with the best Daddy in the universe. Because he loved us so much, I now have just a glimpse of how much the Father loves each of us. God loves us more than we could fathom; He knows our hearts and still loves us with an unwavering love. 

He allowed me to see a father’s love through my earthly father; and even though he is in Heaven now, I still see the Father’s love. Through the hardest trials of life, He never once left me. So even though my heart aches this Father’s Day (and every other one), I know that I still have a good, good Father. For that, I am eternally grateful.

So if your dad is still around, give him an extra hug this weekend. Cherish the stories, the memories, and the time you have with him. 


What I wouldn’t give to hug my Daddy one last time and hear him call me “britches.” ❤️
Blessings,

Mrs. Hannah D. 

One Response to “You’re a Good, Good Father”

  1. bryan stafford June 27, 2016 at 3:43 am #

    so true i loved my uncle glenn he was the best!imiss him also

Leave a Reply

