Such A Long Time

10 Dec

Well, here we are, two days away from the five year anniversary of the hardest day of my life. I can’t believe it has been that long, but then again, it feels like a lifetime. 

I know that this time of year I always blog about losing my Daddy. I’m not sure that will ever change though. I can’t help but think about it and how very different life is now. 

Losing a loved one, especially a parent, is something that you can never “get over.” I’ve learned that firsthand. I know that by the grace of God I’m better and stronger, but over it? Not a chance. 

My heart longs for one more hug, one more time to hear him say “I love you Britches.” I would even love to hear him crunch ice again! Ha! Things like that, that used to drive me crazy, I find myself missing. 

If I’m honest, I worry that I will forget his voice. Forget what he sounded like when he laughed or sneezed (he had the loudest sneeze ever! Haha!). I know in my heart that I will never forget him. He is part of who I am. 

“The hardest thing in life is losing someone…the impossible thing to handle is losing the one who helped make you who you are.” 

I try to be encouraging on this blog, but sometimes you have to be completely real about what you’re feeling. Even if it is hurt. 

So this Christmas (and always) cherish the time you have with your loved ones. Don’t let foolish arguments or disagreements keep you from making memories. Trust me when I say that life is way to short for all that. Enjoy the moments you have on this Earth with the ones you love. And be encouraged that this isn’t the end. How comforting to know that we will be with our loved ones forever in Heaven! 

“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.”‭‭ -Psalm‬ ‭34:18‬

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.”‭‭ -Matthew‬ ‭5:4‬

I am grateful for the wonderful memories I have with my Daddy. I will never forget them. 


“I’m gonna wrap my arms around my daddy’s neck and tell him that I’ve missed him…tell him him all about the man that I became and hope that it pleased him. So much I wanna say, so much I wanted you to know…when I finally make it Home..” –Finally Home; MercyMe 

Blessings, 

-Mrs. Hannah D.

2 Responses to “Such A Long Time”

  1. Valerie Barbarita December 10, 2016 at 1:56 pm #

    BEAUTIFUL BLOG from a BEAUTIFUL LADY. I feel 100% the same. Your dad was one of the greats. Remember you were blessed with more of a father in the brief years he was here than most people can say they had in a lifetime. Much love sweetheart.

    • southernchicwife December 10, 2016 at 5:08 pm #

      Thank you so much! I was and am so blessed and thankful. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas! Much love to you as well ❤️

Leave a Reply

