A Life Well Lived

9 Jun

Our lives are like a crashing wave, here one moment and gone the next.

When going through the day-to-day of life it may seem as though time drags on. But when you look back, you realize how quickly this life goes by.

My family’s world was shaken recently by the passing of my sweet grandfather. He was 88 years old and boy did he live each one of those years. Losing a loved one is the hardest thing a person could go through. Death has removed that person from your day-to-day, week-to-week life and there is no getting them back physically.

On May 6th, my grandfather was dancing and singing to Frank Sinatra (his favorite) at my beautiful cousin’s wedding. We danced as an extended family; we laughed, sang, and made memories we soon realized would be our last happy ones with my grandpa. He was full of life. Always telling a story, always making people laugh, and always making each person feel important.

The following Monday evening, my grandpa fell and broke his hip. Naturally, we were worried, but never imagined the outcome would be so terrible. He was scheduled to have surgery that Wednesday. Surgery went fine, but that afternoon he was having a difficult time coming out of his anesthesia.

On that Thursday morning, there was no improvement. That afternoon, we found out the terrible news that he had suffered a massive stroke and had lost all use/feeling of his right side. We had almost lost all hope that he would get better. The doctors certainly didn’t give us any reassurance.

Minutes turned to hours and hours turned to days. He made no improvement and he never woke up from the deep “sleep” he was in. The decision was made to place him on Hospice.

My eyes are filled with tears as I type that word. Hospice. I’ve had such a bad experience with it before when losing my Daddy. Speaking of that, through all of this so many terrible memories have resurfaced as I watched my once full of life grandpa slowly slip away from us. The noises of the hospital, the smells, the tears; it all brings back such painful memories of the 50 days my Daddy was hospitalized.

And then, on May 14th, my grandpa went to be with Jesus. Our hearts are shattered. Just a week before he was dancing and laughing. I truly believe that the shock of it all has made the situation that much harder.

Through all of this, the words from Even If by MercyMe have been on my heart and in my mind:

“But God, when You choose to leave mountains unmovable, oh give me the strength to be able to sing “it is well with my soul

I know You’re able and I know You can, save through the fire with Your mighty hand, but even if You don’t, my hope is You alone…”

I was honored with the privilege of writing the eulogy and creating the slideshow for my Grandpa’s funeral. As I began writing, learning, and reflecting on his life, I realized something I already knew; my Grandpa lived such a full life! While I still feel 88 years wasn’t long enough, I realized that he truly lived each one of those 88 years. He has traveled the world, owned and managed his own business, and so much more.

I can’t wait to give my Daddy and him the biggest hug when I get to Heaven someday.

Hug your loved ones a little tighter. 

Blessings,

Mrs. Hannah D. 💔

2 Responses to “A Life Well Lived”

  1. Bryan June 10, 2017 at 12:12 am #

    I miss grandpa terribly! My life want never be the same without him

    • ggjbailey June 10, 2017 at 3:30 am #

      Thank you, Bryan, for helping him out all this year. He was so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

